When I Think of Meditation…

I think of thinking. Sitting in silence for hours and hours and just thinking. It also makes me think of that pinesol commercial where she’s meditating and starts floating in the air. I wonder if you could float if you meditated hard enough. Like Chris Angel. I think of Buddhism as well. Of Buddha sitting and relaxing which then lead to the start of a whole religion. Sometimes I wish I had the attention span required for meditation. But unfortunately I can barely focus long enough to stay on topic for our free write. Meditating makes me think of calm. Just being pulled apart from the world for awhile so that you can focus on yourself. I find reading a book kind of like meditating because when I read a book I go to a completely different world. Well if it’s a good book anyways. Then when I finally have to snap back to real life, which is rarely as much fun, I feel kind of dazed. Lots of candles and incense also come to mind. The haze of smoke in a dimly lit room. The cloying fragrance of some exotic spice floating around your head like the thoughts inside of it. Swirling to form different ideas and move you to new topics. The soft murmur of some low chant playing in the background that creates enough background noise to keep the mind on track but not so much that it distracts you from what it is you starting meditating for in the first place. A situation in which some people could get overwhelmed and not be able to handle some unseen pressure to think of something profound. Every thought that makes you think can be profound though…  

Leave a comment